Free outdoor yoga classes available in Locust Grove

By Jason A. Smith
Times Correspondent

Rose Madison of Stockbridge enjoys making the trek to Locust Grove once a week for yoga class.

“It’s an outside class that kind of gives you more of a grounded feeling and puts you in touch with nature,” she said.

Yoga has been shown to reduce stress levels and ease other health concerns. Special photo

Indigo Soul Yoga, in partnership with the Locust Grove Main Street program, is offering free yoga classes on Saturdays at 9 a.m., at the Locust Grove City Park, 169 Cleveland St. The classes are appropriate for all levels, from beginners to advanced.

The class is led by yoga instructor Stephanie Epps of Locust Grove. Madison said she has learned a great deal about yoga through Epps’ efforts.

“Stephanie’s a really great teacher,” said Madison. “Her personality, her style of teaching, it draws you in and makes you want to be a part of it. She has a variety of ages that come out -- men, women and children. Her teaching style is great for all levels.”

Epps has been doing yoga for six years, and has been teaching it for the last two. She said the classes help people to be more active in their daily lives.

“It’s a great way to get people moving,” she said. “People have really been excited to have the classes. They say they feel better, their stress level has reduced, and they’re more mobile. If you take an hour to be more active, it’s amazing how much better you feel.”

Epps noted that yoga has also been shown to help with hypertension, insomnia, flexibility, and other health concerns. She added that the classes help to bring a “sense of community” to the area, and help to improve participants’ overall wellness.

“It’s an hour class, and there are breathing exercises and yoga postures appropriate for all levels,” said Epps. “It’s not too intense, so everyone would be able to participate.”

There is no cutoff limit for the number of participants in the class. Epps said the size and layout of the park leaves plenty of room for more people to join in, including those with disabilities.

Locust Grove Main Street Manager Anna Ogg is helping to get the word out about the classes, and has participated in them herself. She said the activity benefits the area for several reasons.

“Not only is it a service and a recreational opportunity for the community, but it is also a great way to increase foot traffic in our downtown on Saturdays,” said Ogg. “It’s also a good way to attract new people to our downtown. It’s a nice time to be outside. Saturday mornings are usually quiet and peaceful. It’s a great way to center yourself and get some exercise before you continue with the rest of your weekend plans.”

For more information, call 470-332-9409 or e-mail