Bear Creek Festival September 29

By Jason A. Smith
Times Correspondent

A festive fall tradition is just around the corner in Hampton.

The 21st Annual Bear Creek Festival is set for September 29 from 9 a.m., until 5 p.m., at McBrayer City Park. Admission is free.

The event will feature arts and crafts, food, a children’s area, hay rides, horse rides, a scavenger hunt, a 50/50 raffle and a basketball clinic.

The Bear Creek Festival is sponsored by the Hampton Business and Merchants Association. The organization’s President, Sharon Tarpley, said the event is a fun occasion for the community, and a way for friends to reconnect with each other.

“We love putting it on,” said Tarpley. “People come back year after year to see if we have anything different. I also think people come back to see people they haven’t seen in a year.”

She added that the festival enables the Association to support charitable causes in the area.

“This is our annual fundraiser,” said Tarpley. “At the end of the year, we give a certain portion to the nonprofit services in Hampton.”

Tarpley, owner of Tan-a-Rama in Hampton, said the association donated funds to several nonprofit groups in 2017, using proceeds from the festival.

There is still space available for prospective vendors to participate in the event. The cost is $60 for a booth with no power, or $75 for a booth with power.

“We will be taking vendors up until the last day,” said Tarpley.

For more information or a vendor application, call 770-946-5490 or visit bearcreekfestival .com.