Student athletes honored in ‘year in review’

By Monroe Roark
Times Correspondent

Ten athletes from Henry County’s public high schools earned state championships in their respective sports during the 2016-2017 school year, according to a “year in review” report from the central office.

Union Grove High School was awarded the Vicki Davis Director’s Cup for having the best all-around high school athletic performance during the year, based on a point system that takes into account, among other things, region titles in each sport.

Ola finished second and Eagle’s Landing third in the overall ranking, according to the report released by Curt Miller, the district’s athletics, health and physical education coordinator. The award is named for Miller’s predecessor.

Union Grove had two state champion wrestlers: Davion Fairley and Justin Ruffin. Jackson DiSario of Ola also won a state crown on the mat.

The other state champs came in track and field. Latrell Murray won the 300-meter hurdles and Darci Khan of Stockbridge took the 100-meter hurdles. The Tigers also won the 4x100-meter relay (Khan, Temperance Newsome, Maya Davis and Jamaalriya Parker). Diamon Atkins of Woodland HS won the discus.

State runners-up included Union Grove in traditional wrestling and Ola in boys’ golf. Individual second-place finishes in wrest-ling went to Daniel Reid of Luella, Christian Tremble of Ola, Champ Leddon of Locust Grove, Camden Johnson of Union Grove, and Monex Charles of Hampton. Also coming in second in state were Faith Lindsey of Woodland (100-meter dash), Jonathan Respress of Eagle’s Landing (800-meter run) and the 4x100-meter relay team from Luella (Reggie Temple, Latrell Murray, Emmanuel Jennings, Colby Stembridge).

Nine local teams reached the state semifinals this year: Stockbridge football; Ola cheerleading; Eagle’s Landing and Union Grove boys cross-country; Ola volleyball; Henry County boys basketball; Luella and Union Grove duals wrestling; and Union Grove girls golf.

More than 20 region championships were won by the aforementioned schools.