Henry Police present departmental awards

Special to The Times

The Henry County Police Department held its annual Christmas Celebration and Departmental Awards Ceremony on December 19.

The opening ceremony featured holiday songs performed by the Henry County High School Vivation Glee Club, a presentation of colors by the Henry County Police Honor Guard and a Fallen Officers Memorial Ceremony lead by Captain Scott Gray.

Captain Chuck Simmons presents Officer Nick Jackson the Special Operations Officer of the Year Award . Special photo

Officer Steven Parrish was named Officer of the Year; Sergeant Kenneth Turner was named Supervisor of the Year; Officer Brett Barefoot was named Rookie of the Year; Detective Steven Rotella was named Detective of the Year; Officer Joseph Maddox was named Reserve Officer of the Year; Tina Cavender was named Administrative Employee of the Year; Christina Henderson was named Support Employee of the Year; Chaplain Ed Lee was named Chaplain of the Year; Agent Rebecca Enslow was named Agent of the Year; Officer Nick Jackson was named Special Operations Officer of the Year; Sergeant Christopher Fowler was named SWAT Operator of the Year; Officer Paul Danielson received the Top Gun Award and Sergeant Denise Romano received the Certificate of Commendation.

The Chief’s Choice Awards were presented to Lieutenant Jeff Maddox, Officer Anthony Militello, Officer Damion Hampson, Detective Rene Swanson and Officer Khiry Thomas.

The Chuck Haist Hard Charger Award was presented to Ashley Janicak. The James G. Gilbert Meritorious Service Award was presented to Sergeant Teirrah Webster. Detective Antonio Mellon was honored with the Henry County District Attorney Award and Sergeant David Gagnon received the Henry County Solicitors Office Award.

For more information about the Henry County Police Department please visit their web address at www.henrycounty-ga.org/police.