Semifinalists selected for Henry County Schools Teacher of the Year

By Monroe Roark
Times Correspondent

The first step has been taken toward naming the next Teacher of the Year in Henry County.

The school district announced, on September 12, the six semifinalists for the annual honor, surprising each one with a classroom visit by superintendent Rodney Bowler and other officials.

The honorees are:

Laura Bone, Rock Spring Elementary.
Dana Flowers, Timber Ridge Elementary.
David Crumbley, Ola Middle School.
Dr. Lynett Falkner, Locust Grove Middle School.
Melinda Bates, Ola High School.
Chansi Coleman, Eagle’s Landing High School.

A total of 53 teachers, representing each school in the district, will be honored Oct. 13 at the Harvest of Heroes in the Henry County Performing Arts Center.

Also recognized at that event will be six HERO Award recipients nominated from various categories, including service, transportation, support personnel, school nutrition, and student service employees. They will be announced prior to the event. The Henry County Schools Media Specialist of the Year is also recognized as a part of the HERO Awards.

“We are excited to recognize our Teachers of the Year and HERO Award winners at this very special event,” said Bowler. “They do so much for our students and families in the district, and this event is one grand opportunity for us to recognize those seen as the top teacher in their respective schools and those employees who have earned the title of ‘hero’ for their outstanding service to their job and department.”

Last year teachers and award winners shared more than $25,000 in cash and prizes made possible by contributions from the local business community.