BOC Chairman to step down in 2017

By Monroe Roark
Times Correspondent

There will be a new chairman of the Henry County Board of Commissioners in 2017.

Current chairman Tommy Smith made it official last week that he would not be running for a second term, although he has left the door open for a possible run at another office.

Smith filed an “Affidavit of an incumbent not seeking reelection” with the Georgia Transparency & Campaign Finance Commission, stating that he would not be qualifying for the May primary. The filing was recorded Jan. 25.

When asked about his plans, Smith issued the following statement:

“I will not seek re-election for chairman. There is some conversation surrounding a possibility to seek another office.”

He made no indication what that office might be.

Smith’s Hampton residence is in State Senate District 17, State House District 73 and the Third Congressional District. Those seats are currently held by Rick Jeffares, John Yates and Lynn Westmoreland.

Before his 2012 election as chairman, Smith served as mayor of Hampton for more than a decade. He is nearing his 70th birthday.