Toys for Tots deadline rapidly approaching

By Monroe Roark
Times Correspondent

One of the most beloved and popular ways to make Christmas brighter for needy families is alive and well in Henry County, but the window for participating this year is about to close.

Toys for Tots dropsites are all around the county, including places many residents visit several times a week. Every Walgreens, Quik Trip, Toys R Us/Babies R Us and Publix location is a master dropsite for Toys for Tots, according to its website, although to utilize them you’ll need to take action this week.

Toys at those locations must be dropped off no later than Friday, Dec. 18 (except for Publix supermarkets, where the deadline is Sunday, Dec. 20).

There is one other option, however. Henry County has one of three Toys for Tots warehouse locations in its 18-county North Atlanta district. It is in Stock-bridge at 10 Andrew Drive, Suite 800, in the Hudson 75 Business Park off Hudson Bridge Road. Turn south on Willis Drive at the stoplight just east of Kroger, and make a right on Andrew Drive to find the warehouse.

Toys for Tots has listed two specific dates for final dropoffs at the Stockbridge warehouse: Wednesday, Dec. 16; and Tuesday, Dec. 22. Times are 10 a.m.-4 p.m. both days.

If you have a high volume of toys and/or large items such as bicycles and you can’t deliver them yourself, you can contact Toys for Tots for possible pickup. But since it is a 100-percent volunteer organization it cannot guarantee that service at this late date.

Send your request to and they will make every effort possible to pick them up as soon as they can. When emailing your request please include your name, address, name of the business, number of toys/bicycles and hours of operations. This will expedite your request to one of the Toys for Tots volunteers.

Henry is part of the North Atlanta campaign for Toys for Tots, which also includes Banks, Barrow, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Dawson, DeKalb, Douglas, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Jackson, Lumpkin, Newton, Paulding, Rockdale and Walton counties.

For more information, visit