Election office moving temporarily

By Monroe Roark
Times Correspondent

Early voting starts next week in the county’s municipal elections, and there has been a key location change of which many voters need to be aware.

Due to structural and water damage, the main election office on Phillips Drive in McDonough is being vacated for a few months and relocating to 40 Atlanta Street, just across the street from the courthouse on the northwest corner of the square.

Because of the strong possibility of mold in the building and the other issues, the county determined, in conjunction with the state, to make the move so the Phillips Drive building can be repaired. State approval was required because the election office is also a polling place.

A county spokesperson said officials hope to have all of the issues fixed by the beginning of the new year.

Early voting begins Monday, Oct. 12, at the Atlanta Street location for municipal elections in Hampton, Locust Grove, McDonough and Stockbridge. The polls will be open 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Oct. 12-16 in McDonough.

The week of Oct. 19-23 early voting will also be open in Stockbridge at the Merle Manders Conference Center from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. The polls will open Saturday, Oct. 24, 7 a.m.-4 p.m. in McDonough and Stockbridge as well.

For the final week of early voting, Oct. 26-30, the polls are open 7 a.m.-7 p.m. at four locations - the McDonough and Stockbridge locations along with the Fortson Library in Hampton and the Locust Grove Library.

Voters in any of the county’s four cities can vote at any of these locations during early voting. Voters who opt to wait until Election Day (Tuesday, Nov. 3) will have to vote in their respective cities. The voting locations that day will be the same in each city as for early voting.

The following is a rundown of the candidates in the municipal races according to the county election office’s website:

Hampton: Henry Byrd, Nick Craig, Linda Dodgen, Chris Moore, Kathy Jones Pillatzki, Ann N. Tarpley and Alford A. Williams are running for three at-large seats on the City Council.

Locust Grove: Robert Price is running unopposed for mayor; Vernon R. Ashe, Carlos Greer, Otis F. Hammock and Frances Ward are running for three at-large seats on the City Council.

McDonough: Gail Welch Notti, Benjamin “Ben” Pruett and Annette Rayner are running for an at-large seat on the City Council; Antonio Davis, Craig M. Elrod and Jim Panaro are running for the District 3 seat on the City Council; Monta Brown and Kamali Varner are running for the District 4 City Council seat.

Stockbridge: Elton Alexander, John Blount, Tony Brown, Jack Cowart, Neat Robinson, Bruce Smith, Alphonso Thomas and Regina Lewis Ward are running for three at-large seats on the City Council.