Proudly celebrating eleven years of faithfully serving our readers, the people of Henry County


"Celebrating Henry County"


Hey Henry
Submit A Hey Henry
As It Was
Look Closer
Church Notes
Submit A Classified
Click & Save
Inside Henry
Where in The World

Site Search
Contact Us
Find Us
Site News




We have 15 new
Hey Henrys
this week!

Submit your
"Hey Henry"






Early voting continues across the county


By Monroe Roark
Times Correspondent

  Several hundred voters came out last week during the first five days of early voting in Henry County in advance of the May 20 general primary, and polling locations are being added in the days to come.

  According to officials with the county’s election office, more than 500 people cast ballots April 28-May 2 at the main elections office at 345 Phillips Drive in McDonough. That is the only place open for voting the rest of this week, which includes 8 a.m.-5 p.m. weekdays and 9 a.m.-4 p.m. this Saturday.

  Next week, voting booths will be up and running 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Monday through Friday at the main elections office as well as the Hampton Depot (17 E. Main Street), the Fairview Library (28 Austin Road), the Ted Strickland Community Center (130 Berry Street) and the Locust Grove Recreation Center (10 Cleveland Street).

  Only Republican voters in Henry County will have choices to make in the primary regarding local races. Two Democrats are running for seats on the Board of Commissioners: Bruce Holmes, the incumbent in District V; and Darryl Payton in District III. Both are unopposed in the primary.

  Incumbent District III Commissioner Gary Barham has two Republican primary challengers in Horace Brannan and Bill Toney. In District IV, Reid Bowman’s bid for re-election is being challenged by fellow Republican Blake Prince.

  Board of Education seats up for grabs are non-partisan and on the primary ballot. Virgil Brannon and Donna McBride are vying for the District IV seat, while Annette Edwards is running in District V against Erik Charles, the current District IV school board member whose seat is changing due to redrawn district maps.

  Four incumbent judicial candidates are unopposed: Magistrate Judge Robert Godwin, Solicitor General Trea Pipkin, and State Court judges Jason Harper and Ben Studdard.

  Various State House and State Senate seats are on the primary ballot as well as congressional races, the governor’s post and one U.S. Senate seat.

  For a complete list of local candidates, visit the elections office page on the county’s web site,

  To get complete state election information, go to the Secretary of State’s web site,



©Henry County Times, Inc.